What is a Texas resale certificate?

AlphaRose
2 min readJul 21, 2023

--

A Texas resale certificate (also called a Texas sales tax permit) allows businesses to purchase items without paying sales tax. Businesses that have a Texas resale certificate can buy items for resale without paying sales tax to the seller. To get a Texas resale certificate, businesses must apply to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.

Why would I need a Texas resale certificate?

If you are in the business of selling taxable items, you will need a Texas resale certificate so that you can buy items to sell without paying sales tax.

How do I get a Texas resale certificate?

To get a Texas resale certificate, you must apply to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. The application is available online, and you will need to provide some basic information about your business. Once you have submitted the application, you will receive your Texas resale certificate.

What information do I need to apply for a Texas resale certificate?

To apply for a Texas resale certificate, you will need to provide the following information:

  • Your business name, address, and contact information
  • The type of business you are in
  • The type of items you will be selling
  • The name and address of the business where you will be buying items for resale
  • Your federal tax identification number

After you have gathered this information, you can apply for your Texas resale certificate online.

Can I use my Texas resale certificate at any store?

No, you can only use your Texas resale certificate at stores that sell taxable items. You cannot use your resale certificate to purchase exempt items, such as food or prescription drugs.

Do I need a separate Texas resale certificate for each store I buy from?

No, you only need one Texas resale certificate. You can use your resale certificate at any store that sells taxable items.

What if I move my business to a new location?

If you move your business to a new location, you will need to update your Texas resale certificate. You can update your resale certificate online.

What if I change the type of business I am in?

If you change the type of business you are in, you will need to update your Texas resale certificate. You can update your resale certificate online.

What if I change the type of items I am selling?

If you change the type of items you are selling, you will need to update your Texas resale certificate. You can update your resale certificate online.

--

--